Friday Funkiness

I’m going to give you some odd tidbits, because I feel like it.

I’ve been reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it, because I am, in typical nerdy girl fashion, in love with Jane Austen, the Bronte sisters, etc. I am kind of in love with this take on the classic, however. I like a world where the Sisters Bennet can defend themselves against the legions of the undead. It makes the whole culture of the time feel less sexist and oppressive and that makes me grin, as do the illustrations.

Has anyone followed the Baby Sasha story? This child was raised for five years entirely gender neutral, only allowed gender neutral toys, dressed in both what would be considered boys clothes and girls clothes, never allowed to watch television, and referred to as “the infant” by the parents. Only a few close family members knew the gender of the child. I won’t spoil it for you… The gender was revealed today and I linked the article above. Starting school seemed to be the thing the parents couldn’t get around. It’s an interesting idea, but I really don’t think I’m scarring Nora by putting her in pretty dresses.

All dressed up for a wedding

She thinks they’re fun. She also likes the pockets on her cargo pants and sometimes picks her plain gray shirt over one with sparkly things. As she grows and exhibits more and more personality, she can make her own choices and Ben and I will respect them, because we love and respect her.

Something I’ve been obsessed with lately is Tophatter. It’s live auctions of handmade and vintage items. I get a little competitive, but I have only bought a few things and have yet to go over the limit I set for myself, so I’m pretty happy.

So cool

The coolest thing I’ve seen in a long time is this little terrarium. I have no way to justify spending the money on one, but seriously… How cool is this?? They are on a sale site I check regularly called Fab. I’ve found some truly weird and awesome things there.

20120127-115701.jpg

Well, the sweetest bear in the world is awake and growling for lunch!

About cultofezzell

Ben's wife, Nora and Emeline's mommy. Finding the joy in this crazy family life while battling rheumatoid arthritis.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Funkiness

  1. thuston5 says:

    I read that Sasha article.. I thought it would be interesting but it just disturbed me.
    Letting the child decide their clothes and toys is great. But sounds like they steered ‘it’ towards
    feminine things.. I’m thinking they weren’t as ‘neutral’ as they thought they were. Now they are specifying a certain sex school uniform and forbidden to wear the other? Nah.. that’s not letting them decide. Not neutral at all. That’s my two cents!

  2. Dece says:

    The gender neutral story pissed me off! They allowed him to wear sparkly girl bathing suits but not boyish skull clothes? They were very neutral, I think they more were trying to fight the boy in him!

Leave a Reply

