Gratitude 6

  1. My kid loves music.  We were in the car listening to Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody, and Nora starts asking questions.  Her favorite question when a song starts that she isn’t familiar with (after “Can’t we just listen to Let It Go again?!”) is “Is this song a sad song or a happy song?”  I attempted to explain to her that music is complex!  It’s full of all the emotions, ESPECIALLY when Freddie Mercury is involved!  She was not impressed, so I told her to just listen and deal with the emotions.  She spent most of the song muttering, but toward the end I hear her little voice loudly state, “Mommy, I like this song!”  I beamed with pride, but, of course, any song she likes I am no longer allowed to sing.  Double-edged sword, parenting, I tell ya.
  2. I am SO GRATEFUL for the Enid Farmers Market.  Ben and I have been there since the second planning meeting and watching it grow and flourish just fills my heart with pride and, most importantly to this post, gratitude.  I am so grateful for all of those who have been vendors and volunteers, whether or not we see them this season.  I have a feeling this season is going to bring big things.  For one thing, we officially have our 501(c)(3) submitted and that means if you give us money you can deduct it!  If you’re interested in being a vendor or volunteer, I would LOVE to give you more information.  Our first vendor meeting will be April 15th and that is also deadline for first round of application submissions.  I actually submitted the first application this year to have my jewelry at the market…  Fun!
  3. I am grateful for honesty in all its forms.  Nora was playing with one of the other EFM board member’s children and the other little girl said that Nora wasn’t sharing… I asked Nora about it and she said, “Well… I just said that she would never ever touch it again!”  Honesty, kid.  I love it.  Makes life so much easier to talk through, parenting so much easier to approach.  I know she won’t always tell me the truth, even now she doesn’t always tell the truth, but to hear the earnestness in that tiny voice is music to my ears, regardless of what she’s done.
About cultofezzell

Ben's wife, Nora and Emeline's mommy. Finding the joy in this crazy family life while battling rheumatoid arthritis.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

